My love for Dragon Age

I wanted to do a bit of a different post aside from the normal Disney/holiday posts I’ve done.

I met my husband in 2009 and back then I was a little bit of a gamer, mostly playing Warcraft due to my love for the fantasy genre.

One day my then new boyfriend (now my husband) had just purchased a new Xbox 360 along with a new game that had just been released. The game was Dragon Age: Origins. I didn’t know anything about the game but according to my other half he had heard it was very good and he was a big fan of RPG’s. So he fired it up….and so it began.

To begin with I didn’t pay much attention. But then something caught my eye….the conversations were drawing me in, I carried on watching, that music, the ability to make a character exactly how you wanted it….but wait his doing what with that witch?! I had never seen a game which had all this detail, story and GREAT music.

Over the next couple of days I was glued to the screen while my other half was playing the hell out of this game. I knew what I had to do…..

The next day my then boyfriend was due to go home but I knew what I wanted….I went into town and I brought a Xbox 360, but there was only one reason I wanted one…..Dragon Age. I got home with my new console and fluttered my lashes at the other half in the tiny hope he would leave the game behind for me to “test”. He allowed it and left it in my capable hands. For the next week I had no life, I was Claire Cousland of the grey wardens, getting myself into a pickle of a romance with a strapping lad named alistair, spending half hour trying to pick a name for my dog and googling guides on how to get the hell out of the fade. But that was ok. This was the best damn game I had ever played.

As you can imagine my other half didn’t get his game back for a loooooong time…

I had thought back at the beginning who are these legends that made this game, this game that had made me buy a console….bioware that’s who, the Kings/queens of RPG’s.

To cut a long story short. I didn’t even need to play dragon age to fall in love with it, that happened from just watching it. My love for the franchise grew and grew as we were blessed with Dragon age 2 and inquisition.

As a side note though I would like to say that bioware doesn’t get enough credit for the effort they have put into these games. You go onto the bioware forums and there is complaints upon complaints towards bioware. Yes every company appreciates constructive criticism but I do think they also deserve some thanks for all the hard work.

Heres to the future of the Dragon Age franchise. I look forward to seeing what’s next!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Dragon Age rocks! I have never played such an exciting set of games that made me feel like being part of such an epic! (except maybe for Mass Effect)

    You may like my blog about the Dragon Age tabletop RPG if you enjoy tabletop RPGs as well as video game RPGs! It’s a companion to my podcast the Wonders of Thedas!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Oh cool, I’ll be sure to check those out!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

