The One Who Never Got Picked

This is me. I am that girl in school who never got picked.

As a young girl at school I was quiet, shy, friendly and a hard worker. I didn’t have a mean bone in my body. You could say this was my downfall, that I was just too nice. Of course as a child you see this as a good thing. But as you get older you learn that this isn’t always the way to go.

I had friends, not many, but a few. I was never that favourite friend though, you know that one person who befriends the whole school, who everyone wants to be friends with. The popular kid. When it came to choosing for certain things, ie pe teams I was never the one to be picked, of course the popular kid would be the team captain and she would pick all of her friends. But it never stopped at just p.e teams. Head girl/boy, prefects, buddy’s etc etc, it was always the same people. So why not me? I was kind, friendly, but no one wanted that. They wanted cool, confident, dare I say it with a little nasty streak…that wasn’t me. I became content on just being that girl over there.

Through the years I grew, although my confidence didn’t, until I got my first job. Talking to new people and having to be more “grown up” really helped me gain confidence. I started doing things that I would never have done before, speaking to people first was a big step forward for me. But at the same time I still had very little friends. I wanted more but people just weren’t interested.

It wasn’t until I met my husband that I found myself. I found out who I was. I was a girl who loved Disney with a passion, I loved playing video games, I loved old tv shows and that was ok. I am a geek. I love everything geek chic. It took me 24 years to realise who I was as a person and to be true to myself. 

To this day I still have not many friends. I’m no ones “bestie”, no ones favourite friend. But that is ok, because it’s who I am, if no one can accept me for who I am, than it really is a big loss for them.

My daughter who is 9 and now in year 5 at school is going through a similar story to mine when I was at school. All I can keep telling her is, be yourself, like what you want to like and never want to be anything else but you.

If you can relate to this post all I can say is….your awesome, just the way you are 💖

4 Comments Add yours

  1. A Pulgarita says:

    I feel and felt a lot of things you do, we can chat about it if you want. Keep going and keep teaching your daughter how to be confident too =)

    Like

    1. Aww thank you lovely, I’m glad you can relate and thanks for reading

      Like

  2. Zoe Jackson says:

    You are awesome, I love this post. I was very much the same in school I was just drifting, it wasn’t until college I really figured out who I was. Your daughter is very lucky to have you to teach her that being herself is enough and that’s she’s awesome too just like her mumma 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ahh thank you my lovely and thank you for reading x

      Like

Leave a Reply

