ThatMummaRocks – A Love Story

So, I don’t often speak of my husband as much as I should. But today I thought I would do an off the cuff post on how we got together, I’m not sure if it will intrest anyone but hey ho!

Lets rewind back to the year 2009. I was 23 years old and a single mum to K. At the time she was 2 and it was just me and her. I was a member of a rather large chat community, a place where I made lots of friends and just chatted to some pretty decent people. In October/November of 2009 I hadn’t properly been on the chat site as much as I had in the past, this chat site was sectioned off into rooms; these rooms were based on where you live, ie Kent room, London Room etc etc. Out of the blue one day a friend said to me ‘lets go on chat we haven’t done that in a while’ so I agreed and we entered the chat, our usual room (Kent room) was empty, so with that we decided to try out a different room….Essex room.

So we enter Essex room and it is bustling in there and straight away im drawn to someone chatting, he had the whole room in the palm on his hand and he was funny, funny is good for me; it’s one of the most important things I look for in a person. I decided to check out his profile, see exactly who he was and well I was not dissapointed. He was dark, handsome and I believe my heart had fluttered a little. Feeling a little brave I decided to message him with something witty, he replied straight back. Now, no word of a lie we spoke for hours after this, back then it was on MSN (hands up who used to use that!) and we found out that we had a ton in common, not only that but he excited me and everytime a message came through from him my heart done a little leap…yes yes I know corny right, but it’s how I felt.

A week later and we had been on webcam, spoke on the phone and text a lot. We decided that we needed to meet. There was only one problem and this put a downer on the whole thing….he lived in Essex, I was in Kent. It was one of those ‘deal with it when we need to’ situations and so we went ahead and met up. It went well, extremely well and I remember getting off the train and running into his arms, this man was everything I wanted and more. He was also a bad ass guitar player in a band, which clearly got me a tad hot and bothered!

564339_705869452773609_1847891723_n

Things got serious pretty quickly, although one thing we never rushed was him around K. I must stress he was totally cool with it, knew that me and her came as a package and accepted that. Gradually over time Andy would spend more time around K and to this day he still brings her up as if she was his own. In 2010 I fell pregnant with my second child and this is where we knew something needed to be done in terms of locations. Andy wanted to be around the kids when the new baby got here and he also wanted to help me too. On the 22nd May 2011 Z was born and we couldn’t be happier. Shortly after that Andy made the decision to leave everything in Essex behind and move down to Kent. An action that made me realise just how serious he was about us.

To cut a long story short Andy asked me to marry him and after a year of planning and no money we got married on the 29th September 2012 and I became Mrs Ray! Fast forward 5 years and here we are still, K is 9, Z is 5 and we will be celebrating our 5th wedding anniversary this year.

We’ve had our ups and our downs, but his not only my husband, his my best friend too and hand on my heart I don’t know what I would do without him. His taken on K as his own and has been the greatest dad to the both of them.

I love him to the moon and back.

578453_543455082348381_480693213_n

7 Comments Add yours

  1. Her vs. World says:

    Beautiful story and beautiful couple!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Tanya says:

    Okay I can’t stop awwing. This is just adorable. You guys are like two puzzle pieces fitting perfectly. This is such an adorable love story. 😍💖💖💖💖💖

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Holly says:

    This was such a beautiful read and a love story to be proud of telling 💗💙 Here’s to many more years xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you my lovely xx

      Liked by 1 person

  4. threebrits says:

    This is such a beautiful love story! Love that you wrote a post about it and shared it with us all because we love reading it! 💚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Awww thank you girls, much love x

      Like

Leave a Reply

