To My Younger Self

Dear My Younger Self
I see you sitting there on the bench at school, it’s lonely.
You’re 10 years old and you’re wondering what you ever did
wrong to make people not speak to you. Sure you’re not loud,
daring or confident, but you are kind. You wouldn’t know the
first thing about being nasty, but they do, they know how to
be nasty. They get to you don’t they? But yet you deny it. You
tell no one so it never becomes real.
There you are, upset this time, sitting on the same bench.
This time they made fun of your hair and decided that you
were too embarrassing to play with. You’re crying, yet no one
comes over, ‘you’re a baby’ they say, they don’t know do
they? That words hurt. But most of all, they hurt more when
your parents are getting a divorce. It’s why you’re crying,
why you feel like your life is the worst and that it will never
get better.
But it will get better. Your confidence will flourish and all
these problems will iron out.
Those girls calling you names? They have nothing better to
do and you are the real diamond in all of this. Shine on, be
yourself and just know this: life throws curveballs at us all,
you’ve just got to learn how to dodge them.
From,
Your older self
                                                                                    Blog Signature
29 Comments Add yours

  1. lolitambonita says:

    What a lovely post. I am sorry you had to go through that. I woul have been the loud one that sticks up for you! X
    Lola Mia // www lolitabonita.co.uk

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Awww thank you. Luckily I’m past that stage in my life now, it just takes a while to heal x

      Like

  2. TheOriginalPhoenix says:

    This is heartbreaking but beautiful.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you and thanks for reading x

      Like

      1. TheOriginalPhoenix says:

        You’re welcome 🙂

        Like

  3. beautifully written. you could have been writing this to me. its good to look back and see how far you have come x Hales xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It really is, thank you for reading x

      Like

  4. ktkinnes says:

    This must have been so hard to write and I hope it helps a bit getting it out there. Words are the most powerful weapon anyone can wield and unfortunately people learn from a young age how to inflict pain with them instead of lifting each other up

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks lovely, it was hard but I’d rather people relate to it then me keep it all hidden away xx

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Chelsea Anne says:

    This is so amazingly written. I can completely relate to this, and i know it will have been hard for you to write it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you and thanks for reading x

      Like

  6. This is beautifully written. I can relate a lot to this so that’s probably why I had hat sinking heart feeling when reading it. It is hard but we have to show that we can come out on top

    Tasha x

    http://itsatashathing.blogspot.co.uk/2017/03/mothers-day-gift-guide-2017-last-minute.html

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Hun, I’m glad that people can relate to it x

      Like

  7. This post made me so sad but it’s also so powerful. Young girls can be so horrible sometimes and just have no idea the effect they can have on someone x

    Tiffany x http://www.foodandotherloves.co.uk

    Liked by 1 person

    1. They really don’t and the worst thing is the effects it can leave for years and years after x

      Like

  8. artsycrystal says:

    This is great. I can relate to this when I was younger I was picked on for being a tomboy still am in ways. I am learning to love myself more. Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It seems like the more unique and different you are the more people seem to dislike it. Keep on being you! X

      Like

      1. artsycrystal says:

        Thanks yes this is very true with some people but some people think I am amazing. Anyways doesn’t matter what people think 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  9. Such a heartfelt post hun. I love reading things like this because they bare so relatable. I wish we could go back next time and tell ourselves these things, just to let ourselves know it gets better and to hand onto the hope.

    Jordanne || Thelifeofaglasgowgirl.co.uk

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you my lovely, it was very therapeutic to get it all typed out. Someone needs to invent time machines!

      Like

  10. Beautiful Post – so inspiring for young girls who are going through similar experiences -so many are – the actions of others do not determine your worth – and eventually you get your time to shine 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you and thanks for reading! X

      Like

  11. annalisanuttall says:

    A very heartfelt post. I was picked on being tomboy and for being really nerdy. But the joke are on them now (the people who picked on me) as I’m now making a living being nerdy and they can’t get a job. xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Well done you!! We will show them! X

      Like

  12. Chloe says:

    This is so beautiful and written perfectly, I have done a blog post about a letter to my younger self, I’ll put link up,
    OneGirlOneJourney x

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Ella says:

    This is so lovely, I feel so sad for 10-year-old you, I hope you feel better now babe! XX

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, it’s a long process but I’m getting better! X

      Like

  14. Emiella says:

    This was powerful. I loved it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much x

      Like

Leave a Reply

